Defending champion Mac McClung and All-Star Jaylen Brown highlight the field for the upcoming NBA Slam Dunk Contest.

Joining McClung and Brown are Jacob Toppin of the New York Knicks and Jaime Jaquez Jr. of the Miami Heat.

The event is part of the NBA’s All-Star Weekend, taking place Friday through Sunday in Indianapolis.

The dunk contest is part of the Saturday festivities, beginning at 8 p.m. ET.

RELATED: 2023-24 NBA championship odds: Celtics favored

McClung plays for the Osceola Magic, the NBA G League affiliate of the Orlando Magic. 

Toppin splits time between the Knicks and the G League’s Westchester Knicks. Toppin’s older brother Obi is a forward for the Indiana Pacers, and won the 2022 dunk contest. 

Brown is a three-time All-Star for the Boston Celtics.

Let’s take a look at the odds for the dunk contest: *

Mac McClung, Magic: -190 (bet $10 to win $15.26 total)
Jaylen Brown, Celtics: +420 (bet $10 to win $43 total)
Jacob Toppin, Knicks: +600 (bet $10 to win $70 total) 
Jaime Jacquez Jr., Heat: +650 (bet $10 to win $75 total)

* odds as of 2/13/2024

Brown is the first player to participate in the dunk contest and play in the All-Star Game since 2018, when Victor Oladipo was with the Indiana Pacers.

Jaquez talked about the art of dunking on “Podcast P with Paul George.”

“I think I got one dunk that you guys are gonna be surprised to see,” Jaquez said. “We’ve got a lot of work behind the scenes being put into the creativity of all this. I didn’t realize how serious this process was going to be.”

George, who competed in the 2012 and ’14 dunk contests, said he got an adrenaline rush at the event and felt like he could jump five inches higher.

“That’s what I’m telling myself the whole time,” Jaquez said. “I’m just banking on the adrenaline.”

Here’s a look at the dunk contest winners since 2010:

2023: Mac McClung, 76ers
2022: Obi Toppin, Knicks
2021: Anfernee Simons, Trail Blazers
2020: Derrick Jones Jr., Heat
2019: Hamidou Diallo, Thunder
2018: Donovan Mitchell, Jazz
2017: Glenn Robinson III, Pacers
2016: Zach LaVine, Timberwolves
2015: Zach LaVine, Timberwolves
2014: John Wall, Wizards
2013: Terrence Ross, Raptors
2012: Jeremy Evans, Jazz
2011: Blake Griffin, Clippers
2010: Nate Robinson, Knicks

Who do you have winning the dunk contest? Follow FOX Sports for the latest news in the NBA and other sports.

Get more from National Basketball Association Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *